Tag Archives | Susan Kaye Quinn

The Live-Action Mindjack Book Trailer Reveal!

The Live-Action Mindjack Book Trailer Reveal
(from the bestselling Mindjack series by Susan Kaye Quinn)

With the help of over 20 cast and crew members, award-winning director Beth Spitalny has brought the concept of the bestselling Mindjack Trilogy to life on the screen.

When everyone reads minds,
a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Please share!

Ways you can share the trailer:

1) Watch the trailer on YouTube (or here)!
(more views=higher visibility)

2) Post it to Facebook (copy & paste below)

Check out the live-action Mindjack Book Trailer (from the bestselling Mindjack Trilogy by Susan Kaye Quinn): When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep. http://bit.ly/MindjackBookTrailer

3) Post it to Twitter (copy & paste below)

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep. Watch the live-action Mindjack Book Trailer http://bit.ly/MindjackBookTrailer

4) Share to Google+, Tumbler, Pinterest, and more
Go to the trailer on YouTube and click the “share” button. Click the arrow to expand and see all the options. Easy peasy. (While you’re there, click “like” on YouTube, or leave a comment!)

5) Post the trailer on your blog
Grab the embed code from YouTube or email me for a copy of the HTML for a complete post announcing the trailer and ways to share!

Thanks so much for sharing!

To celebrate the release of the trailer,
I’m putting Open Minds on sale!
$2.99 now $0.99
for one week only
$9.99 now $7.99
for one week only
THANK YOU to everyone who is sharing the trailer today!

An EXTRA SPECIAL THANKS to
everyone involved in making the trailer a reality, including Director Beth Spitalny, Producer Angel Acevedo, Director of Photography Lance Kaplan, lead actor Nikki Flemming (Kira) and the many fine actors, crew members, and post-production staff who donated their time and talent to the project.

For the making-of the trailer, see the Mindjack Trilogy website.

Susan Kaye Quinn is the author of the bestselling Mindjack Series, which includes three novels, three novellas, and a trailer. She’s currently writing a steampunk fantasy romance, just for kicks. When that’s out of her system, she has ambitious plans to embark on a series about the Singularity (the time when computers become more intelligent than humans) that should appeal to fans of the Mindjack novels. Or possibly play on Facebook all day. Could go either way.

Comments { 5 }

FREE SOULS cover reveal! It’s here!

Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn

(Book Three of the Mindjack Trilogy) Now Available!
When your mind is a weapon, freedom comes at a price.

Four months have passed since Kira left home to join Julian’s Jacker Freedom Alliance, but the hole in her heart still whistles empty where her boyfriend Raf used to be. She fills it with weapons training, JFA patrols, and an obsessive hunt for FBI agent Kestrel, ignoring Julian’s worries about her safety and repeated attempts to recruit her for his revolutionary chat-casts. When anti-jacker politician Vellus surrounds Jackertown with the National Guard, Kira discovers there’s more to Julian’s concerns than she knew, but she’s forced to take on a mission that neither want and that might be her last: assassinating Senator Vellus before he can snuff out Julian’s revolution and the jackers she’s come to love.
All Mindjack stories available on Amazon, Barnes&Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, and iTunes
(Note Free Souls is not yet available on iTunes)

Early Praise for Free Souls

“Quinn paints a picture of a not-too-distant America where politicians inflame the hatred of one section of the populace for another—all for their own gain—and you worry that her world is not so far off from our own.”
Dianne Salerni, author of We Hear the Dead, The Caged Graves, and the forthcoming The Eighth Day
Free Souls starts with a bang and doesn’t let up. Like a mash-up of all your favorite science-fiction adventures from Star Wars to The Legend of Korra, it blends nonstop action, nail-biting escapes, and great romance. I absolutely loved it! A great series conclusion—a must-read.”
Leigh Talbert Moore, author of Rouge and The Truth About Faking
“Susan did it again. Free Souls was WOW! I expected Kira to step up to her role as heroine but not like this. Surprises kept coming until the very end which tied up more loose ends than I knew existed. Warning: Don’t start reading until you have time to finish. I didn’t want to put Free Souls down for a second. It’s that kind of book.”
Sher A. Hart, Goodreads Review

Interview
Susan’s over at Amy Saunder’s blog today (12.14.12), answering questions about how she came up with the mages’ abilities, what kind of mage she would be, and all about her future works.

Digital Box Set
Since Free Souls is out, there is now a Digital Box Set of the Mindjack Trilogy for those of you who want the whole series!

Available on AmazonBarnes&Noble

Mindjack Origins Collection
Want more Julian? Wondering how Sasha’s ability really works? Looking for EXCLUSIVE DELETED SCENES from Free Souls? This collection of novellas, scenes, and other goodies is for those craving a bit more of the characters and drama of the Mindjack series.

Includes:

Mindjack Novellas
Mind Games (Raf’s story)
The Handler (Julian’s story)
The Scribe (Sasha’s story)

TWO EXCLUSIVE DELETED SCENES from Free Souls (published nowhere else!)

PLUS Mindjack flash fiction, an (imaginary) conversation between Raf and Julian, and other goodies for readers who want just a little bit more of Kira, Julian, Raf, and the Mindjack crew.

Available on AmazonBarnes&Noble
ENTER TO WIN
one of FIVE ecopies of the Mindjack Origins Collection

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments { 8 }

Over 10K sales for Susan Kaye Quinn! Time for giveaways!

Welcome my friend and fellow Indelible, Susan Kaye Quinn. You all know her as the author of OPEN MINDS (Mindjack Trilogy) and the blogger to take the fear out of self publishing! Congrats, Sue!

Reaching 10,000 sales and a Party
by Susan Kaye Quinn

A little over a year ago, I decided to self-publish. I set goals, made a plan, and took a leap. On November 1st, 2011, I released my first indie title. Almost a year later, I have two novels and three short stories/novellas out:

The results have astounded me.

Here are the stats:
Sales 
Open Minds 10,000
Closed Hearts 3,460
Total Sales of Novels 13,460
Total Sales of Short Fiction (across 3 titles) 1,190
Overall Sales 14,650

To celebrate this milestone, I’m throwing a PARTY to say “thank you!!!” to everyone who has helped make it happen. I’m giving away a

CLICK HERE to see the full celebration post, or enter the Rafflecopter forms below, with everything from a NEW KINDLE PAPERWHITE (!!!) to my favorite books to MY books. 


Something for everyone.
ENTER one or all.

And THANK YOU for helping make this first year of my indie publishing experiment such a wonderful success!

Note: I’ve read and truly loved all the indie books I’m giving away. You’ll see my tastes run the gamut of genres. The signed trad-pub paper books I picked up at a local signing. Ebooks are open internationally, paperbooks and Kindle are US only.

Kindle Paperwhite
(note this is the $119 version, US only)
My Fav Indie Books – The Fantasy Pack
(ebooks)
My Fav Indie Books – The Light-Hearted Romance Pack
(ebooks)

My Fav Indie Books – The Contemporary Pack
(ebooks)
My Fav Indie Books – The Science Fiction Pack
(ebooks)
Trad-Pub Books – Tempest and Wake
(SIGNED hardcovers, US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Trad-Pub Books – Behemoth (Leviathan#2)
(hardcover, US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Books – Open MindsClosed Hearts
(SIGNED paperbooks, US only)

Comments { 6 }

Cover reveal for Closed Hearts!

Cover Reveal for Closed Hearts
Coming May 23rd…
Closed Hearts (Book Two of the Mindjack Trilogy)
When you control minds, only your heart can be used against you.
Eight months ago, Kira Moore revealed to the mindreading world that mindjackers like herself were hidden in their midst. Now she wonders if telling the truth was the right choice after all. As wild rumors spread, a powerful anti-jacker politician capitalizes on mindreaders’ fears and strips jackers of their rights. While some jackers flee to Jackertown—a slum rife with jackworkers who trade mind control favors for cash—Kira and her family hide from the readers who fear her and jackers who hate her. But when a jacker Clan member makes Kira’s boyfriend Raf collapse in her arms, Kira is forced to save the people she loves by facing the thing she fears most: FBI agent Kestrel and his experimental torture chamber for jackers.
 

Release Date: May 23rd, 2012
Click Here to sign up for the Virtual Launch Party on May 23rd! There will be prizes, reviews, bonus content, did I mention prizes? Come join the fun!
PRAISE FOR
Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy)
Being a fan of dystopian and sci-fi in young adult books this was exactly the type of book I was hoping to fall in love with and absolutely did …YA readers who love authors like Ally Condie, Veronica Roth, Lauren Oliver and others would be missing out if they failed to pick up Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn. Join Kira on her journey to save her fellow mindjackers and potentially change the landscape of her world forever.”
Danielle Smith, book blogger at There’s a Book
Susan plunges readers into a compelling and frightening world where nearly everyone can read minds when they come of age. The very idea makes me shudder. This is easily one of the best books I’ve read not only this year, but in recent years.”
Heather McCorkle, author of The Secret of Spruce Knoll
“Susan Kaye Quinn’s Open Minds is an edge-of-the-seat YA sci-fi, where 16 year-old Kira dodges psychological bullets from all sides.”  — Catherine Stine, author of Fireseed One
Open Minds $2.99 on Amazon, Amazon UK, Barnes&Noble, and iTunes
Susan Kaye Quinn, Author
Susan Kaye Quinn grew up in California, where she wrote snippets of stories and passed them to her friends during class. She pursued a bunch of engineering degrees and worked a lot of geeky jobs, including turns at GE Aircraft Engines, NASA, and NCAR. Now that she writes novels, her business card says “Author and Rocket Scientist” and she doesn’t have to sneak her notes anymore. All that engineering comes in handy when dreaming up paranormal powers in future worlds or mixing science with fantasy to conjure slightly plausible inventions. Susan writes from the Chicago suburbs with her three boys, two cats, and one husband. Which, it turns out, is exactly as much as she can handle.
Way too often, you can find Susan on her blog, facebook, and twitter.
Susan’s Other Works
In His Eyes Anthology (includes Mind Games, a short prequel to Open Minds)
Life, Liberty, and Pursuit (a teen love story)
Full Speed Ahead (short afterstory to Life, Liberty, and Pursuit)
Comments { 14 }

Deciding a publishing route. What’s best for you? #indiechat

We’re talking about “the decision” tonight. What route to go? Self publishing? Small press? Go for an agent? The decision isn’t the same for everyone. There are many factors to consider.

Join us for a Twitter chat tonight at 9 p.m EST and use the hashtag #indiechat

Here are some links to get you started for #indiechat tonight.

Will self publishing hurt my chances? by Rachelle Garnder

The Business Rusch: You are not alone by Kris Rusch

Should you self publish? Ten question to ask. by Nathan Bransford

The New World of Publishing: The Death of an Indie Writer’s Career by Dean Wesley Smith

Thinking of self pubbing? Read this. by S.R. Johannes

Seven questions to ask before self publishing by Susan Kaye Quinn

Hope to chat with you tonight!

Comments { 7 }