Warning: scandir(/home/content/j/d/u/jdudleystudios/html/_sites/laurapauling_com/wp-content/uploads/ithemes-security/backups) [function.scandir]: failed to open dir: No such file or directory in /home/content/82/6039282/html/_sites/laurapauling_com/wp-content/plugins/better-wp-security/core/modules/backup/class-itsec-backup.php on line 273

Warning: scandir() [function.scandir]: (errno 2): No such file or directory in /home/content/82/6039282/html/_sites/laurapauling_com/wp-content/plugins/better-wp-security/core/modules/backup/class-itsec-backup.php on line 273
Laura Pauling | Tag Archive | Open Minds
Tag Archives | Open Minds

The Live-Action Mindjack Book Trailer Reveal!

The Live-Action Mindjack Book Trailer Reveal
(from the bestselling Mindjack series by Susan Kaye Quinn)

With the help of over 20 cast and crew members, award-winning director Beth Spitalny has brought the concept of the bestselling Mindjack Trilogy to life on the screen.

When everyone reads minds,
a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Please share!

Ways you can share the trailer:

1) Watch the trailer on YouTube (or here)!
(more views=higher visibility)

2) Post it to Facebook (copy & paste below)

Check out the live-action Mindjack Book Trailer (from the bestselling Mindjack Trilogy by Susan Kaye Quinn): When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep. http://bit.ly/MindjackBookTrailer

3) Post it to Twitter (copy & paste below)

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep. Watch the live-action Mindjack Book Trailer http://bit.ly/MindjackBookTrailer

4) Share to Google+, Tumbler, Pinterest, and more
Go to the trailer on YouTube and click the “share” button. Click the arrow to expand and see all the options. Easy peasy. (While you’re there, click “like” on YouTube, or leave a comment!)

5) Post the trailer on your blog
Grab the embed code from YouTube or email me for a copy of the HTML for a complete post announcing the trailer and ways to share!

Thanks so much for sharing!

To celebrate the release of the trailer,
I’m putting Open Minds on sale!
$2.99 now $0.99
for one week only
$9.99 now $7.99
for one week only
THANK YOU to everyone who is sharing the trailer today!

An EXTRA SPECIAL THANKS to
everyone involved in making the trailer a reality, including Director Beth Spitalny, Producer Angel Acevedo, Director of Photography Lance Kaplan, lead actor Nikki Flemming (Kira) and the many fine actors, crew members, and post-production staff who donated their time and talent to the project.

For the making-of the trailer, see the Mindjack Trilogy website.

Susan Kaye Quinn is the author of the bestselling Mindjack Series, which includes three novels, three novellas, and a trailer. She’s currently writing a steampunk fantasy romance, just for kicks. When that’s out of her system, she has ambitious plans to embark on a series about the Singularity (the time when computers become more intelligent than humans) that should appeal to fans of the Mindjack novels. Or possibly play on Facebook all day. Could go either way.

Comments { 5 }

Over 10K sales for Susan Kaye Quinn! Time for giveaways!

Welcome my friend and fellow Indelible, Susan Kaye Quinn. You all know her as the author of OPEN MINDS (Mindjack Trilogy) and the blogger to take the fear out of self publishing! Congrats, Sue!

Reaching 10,000 sales and a Party
by Susan Kaye Quinn

A little over a year ago, I decided to self-publish. I set goals, made a plan, and took a leap. On November 1st, 2011, I released my first indie title. Almost a year later, I have two novels and three short stories/novellas out:

The results have astounded me.

Here are the stats:
Sales 
Open Minds 10,000
Closed Hearts 3,460
Total Sales of Novels 13,460
Total Sales of Short Fiction (across 3 titles) 1,190
Overall Sales 14,650

To celebrate this milestone, I’m throwing a PARTY to say “thank you!!!” to everyone who has helped make it happen. I’m giving away a

CLICK HERE to see the full celebration post, or enter the Rafflecopter forms below, with everything from a NEW KINDLE PAPERWHITE (!!!) to my favorite books to MY books. 


Something for everyone.
ENTER one or all.

And THANK YOU for helping make this first year of my indie publishing experiment such a wonderful success!

Note: I’ve read and truly loved all the indie books I’m giving away. You’ll see my tastes run the gamut of genres. The signed trad-pub paper books I picked up at a local signing. Ebooks are open internationally, paperbooks and Kindle are US only.

Kindle Paperwhite
(note this is the $119 version, US only)
My Fav Indie Books – The Fantasy Pack
(ebooks)
My Fav Indie Books – The Light-Hearted Romance Pack
(ebooks)

My Fav Indie Books – The Contemporary Pack
(ebooks)
My Fav Indie Books – The Science Fiction Pack
(ebooks)
Trad-Pub Books – Tempest and Wake
(SIGNED hardcovers, US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Trad-Pub Books – Behemoth (Leviathan#2)
(hardcover, US only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My Books – Open MindsClosed Hearts
(SIGNED paperbooks, US only)

Comments { 6 }

Cover reveal for Closed Hearts!

Cover Reveal for Closed Hearts
Coming May 23rd…
Closed Hearts (Book Two of the Mindjack Trilogy)
When you control minds, only your heart can be used against you.
Eight months ago, Kira Moore revealed to the mindreading world that mindjackers like herself were hidden in their midst. Now she wonders if telling the truth was the right choice after all. As wild rumors spread, a powerful anti-jacker politician capitalizes on mindreaders’ fears and strips jackers of their rights. While some jackers flee to Jackertown—a slum rife with jackworkers who trade mind control favors for cash—Kira and her family hide from the readers who fear her and jackers who hate her. But when a jacker Clan member makes Kira’s boyfriend Raf collapse in her arms, Kira is forced to save the people she loves by facing the thing she fears most: FBI agent Kestrel and his experimental torture chamber for jackers.
 

Release Date: May 23rd, 2012
Click Here to sign up for the Virtual Launch Party on May 23rd! There will be prizes, reviews, bonus content, did I mention prizes? Come join the fun!
PRAISE FOR
Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy)
Being a fan of dystopian and sci-fi in young adult books this was exactly the type of book I was hoping to fall in love with and absolutely did …YA readers who love authors like Ally Condie, Veronica Roth, Lauren Oliver and others would be missing out if they failed to pick up Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn. Join Kira on her journey to save her fellow mindjackers and potentially change the landscape of her world forever.”
Danielle Smith, book blogger at There’s a Book
Susan plunges readers into a compelling and frightening world where nearly everyone can read minds when they come of age. The very idea makes me shudder. This is easily one of the best books I’ve read not only this year, but in recent years.”
Heather McCorkle, author of The Secret of Spruce Knoll
“Susan Kaye Quinn’s Open Minds is an edge-of-the-seat YA sci-fi, where 16 year-old Kira dodges psychological bullets from all sides.”  — Catherine Stine, author of Fireseed One
Open Minds $2.99 on Amazon, Amazon UK, Barnes&Noble, and iTunes
Susan Kaye Quinn, Author
Susan Kaye Quinn grew up in California, where she wrote snippets of stories and passed them to her friends during class. She pursued a bunch of engineering degrees and worked a lot of geeky jobs, including turns at GE Aircraft Engines, NASA, and NCAR. Now that she writes novels, her business card says “Author and Rocket Scientist” and she doesn’t have to sneak her notes anymore. All that engineering comes in handy when dreaming up paranormal powers in future worlds or mixing science with fantasy to conjure slightly plausible inventions. Susan writes from the Chicago suburbs with her three boys, two cats, and one husband. Which, it turns out, is exactly as much as she can handle.
Way too often, you can find Susan on her blog, facebook, and twitter.
Susan’s Other Works
In His Eyes Anthology (includes Mind Games, a short prequel to Open Minds)
Life, Liberty, and Pursuit (a teen love story)
Full Speed Ahead (short afterstory to Life, Liberty, and Pursuit)
Comments { 14 }

WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE! Rewards offered.

Heather Kelly WANTS you!

Enter a fun contest creating Wanted posters for your favorite books! Post them to your blog. Then link to the bloghop on Heather’s blog!

I believe there will be rewards.

Wanted: Futuristic sci-fi story about a teen girl with a secret power: the ability to mind jack or control minds. Dangerous. Proceed with caution.


Wanted: A fun, charming YA about a girl with a disastrous prom night and how she lived to tell the tale.


Wanted: A hilarious but moving YA mystery starring a spunky sleuth who lost her best friend and is out to find out why!


Wanted: YA short stories and excerpts filled with swoon-worthy male leads from Indelible Indie books.

Head on over to Heather’s and help promote your favorite books!

Comments { 29 }

Countdown of my favorite books – part 2.

So so many good books this year. But there were several that stayed with me. Let’s continue the countdown with….

THE MARBURY LENS by Andrew Smith

Powerful. Twisted. Creepy. Heart pounding. I couldn’t read this book at night right before bed. Seriously. Yet I loved it. Great imagery. Storytelling. I will read it again.

OPEN MINDS by Susan Kaye Quinn

I didn’t know what to expect. I’ve read a lot of paranormals. But this one was different. Mind control. A girl figuring out where she belongs. Captivity. Mysteries. I can’t wait for the sequel. And did I mention the terrific writing?

Please complete your own count down in the comments. What are some of your favorites?

Comments { 14 }